What Hockey Gives You

Thought Catalog

smilla4smilla4

Sometimes I will just stop whatever I’m doing and think back to my youth hockey days. I remember when I first began, and could barely stop. I remember looking up to the older girls wanting to be as good as them. I remember playing mini hockey in the hotel hallways. I remember the van rides at tournaments, trying to fit all of 17 or so of us into one van so we could jam to some music. I remember the important buildup to games—the warm-up, the cheers, the vision of scoring.

I remember the awful feeling after skating suicides, but knowing that it was all worth it. I remember our coaches’ inspirational speeches before games. I remember the competitive spirit I had, that I will never have again. I remember the joys of winning, and the heartbreak of losing. I remember the last game I played, when I sat…

View original post 584 more words

Leave a Reply

