I Have A Religion And It’s Called Being A Good Person

Thought Catalog

In 1994, Bjork was interviewed for an article titled “Bjork on the Wild Side” When asked who she prays to, she replied:

“I’ve got my own religion… Iceland sets a world-record… When we were asked what we believe, 90% said, ‘ourselves.’ I think I’m in that group. If I get into trouble, there’s no God or Allah to sort me out. I have to do it myself.”

That’s the only idea of religion I can identify with. My mother is a roman catholic and my father, an atheist. While she looks for meaning in a withered flower, he attempts to explain phenomena with logic and applied science. I fall somewhere in between.

As an infant, I was baptized into the church. Baptism, the Catholic rite of cleansing “original sin,” ensures a child will not be sent to hell in case it gets sick and dies or is eaten…

View original post 1,056 more words

Leave a Reply

