My Best Friend Has Cancer, And It Makes Me Feel Like An A-Hole

Thought Catalog

I’ve never thought about cancer. I’ve never known anyone who has had it, and while people around me participated in charity events and wore those little pink ribbons, I’ve always felt sort of a guilty detachment toward the disease. I’m not some kind of monster — it’s obviously a devastating illness, but without a face to put on it I’ve always had a hard time feeling any type of real connection to cancer awareness.

As of about a month ago, cancer now has a face in my mind. It’s young and blonde and lovely, and so familiar that it sends me James Franco memes on a daily basis. One of my best friends was diagnosed with osteosarcoma, a bone cancer that I know almost nothing about, aside from what I’ve learned from insomnia-fueled Google searches that scare the shit out of me.

Due to years of frequent meditation, the fact…

View original post 385 more words

Leave a Reply

