10 Important Life Lessons Kids Teach Us

Thought Catalog

After I graduated college, I was a nanny for two years because I wasn’t sure if I wanted to become a teacher. What I didn’t expect was that the kids I watched taught me important things about life just as I was trying to teach them how to tie their shoes and read a book.

1. You can’t bullshit your way out of situations.

Kids are great lie detectors. They’re smarter than they seem, and because their grasp of the world is usually relative to their parents and their neighborhoods and their playmates, their ability to search for any possible flaw in logic is impressive. If something happens that is atypical of their routine, they know it, and they will ask you.

2. … But everything is always better with magic.

It’s why Santa Claus and the tooth fairy exist. Sometimes the world is just a better place in the…

View original post 699 more words

Leave a Reply

